The DP falls out with Jaguar, prefers Simon Mbugua for Starehe MP seat

2 mins read

Deputy President William Ruto and Starehe MP Charles Njagua, popularly known as Jaguar have reportedly disagreed over a proposal by the DP to have the first time MP shelve his ambitions for EALA MP Simon Mbugua, who is also eyeing the Starehe MP seat on UDA.

To avert a fallout, DP Ruto has been holding meetings with UDA aspirants across the country and asking those going for the same seat to reach a consensus. One of such constituencies is Starehe where both EALA MP Simon Mbugua and current legislator Charles Njagua are facing off.

On Wednesday through a statement on his social media handles, Jaguar dismissed reports of him stepping down for Simon Mbugua as claimed by the EALA MP’s allies, saying he has not had any agreement with the DP on the issue and he is in the race to the end and is ready for UDA primaries slated for April 14th.

Read: Mudavadi: I have no problem with Raila succeeding Uhuru as President

”As the sitting M.P of Starehe Constituency I would like to inform my constituents that I have not stepped down for any aspirant and I have not held any discussions with the Deputy President in regards to this matter,” Jaguar said in a Facebook post.

“I was elected by the people of Starehe and I have the mandate to represent them. I will not be party to any negotiations. My opponent agreed to negotiations in his former place. Starehe mambo ni tofauti. Tupatane kwa debe April 14,” he added.

According to sources within the United Democratic Alliance (UDA), William Ruto prefers Simon Mbugua for the seat and wants him to fly the UDA flag in the constituency.

The DP’s decision is fueled by reports that Jaguar has lost ground in Starehe something he witnessed during his recent visit to Ngara where the MP was heckled by his constituents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Odinga faults hoarders for current fuel crisis

Next Story

No Dr. Mutunga, there will be no handshake after the August 9th elections

Latest from Blog