ODM to challenge Matungu by-election results in court

1 min read

The ODM Party will challenge the election of ANC Party’s Peter Nabulindo as the Matungu Member of Parliament. Speaking on Sunday, ODM Secretary General Edwin Sifuna confirmed former MP David Were, who ran on the party’s ticket has launched a petition against Mr. Nabulindo’s win.

“This is the candidate’s petition …some of the grounds are voter suppression and violence,” Secretary-General Edwin Sifuna said. His sentiments were supported by ANC Deputy Party leader Ayub Savula, who said the ODM Party filed the petition despite it being a member of the NASA Coalition.

”ODM have issued an intention to file a petition against ANC’s victory in Matungu despite belonging in the same coalition – Nasa,” Mr Savula told the Nation.

Nabulindo was declared the winner on the March 4th mini-poll, after garnering 14,679 votes to trounce his closest challenger, David Were of ODM, who had 10,500 votes after the results from the 116 polling stations were declared.

United Democratic Alliance (UDA) candidate Alex Lanya emerged third with 4,813 votes, Independent candidate Bernard Wakoli became fourth with 1,304 while Christabel Jane Murunga emerged fifth with 365.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Kibwana: Succession politics likely to determine the fate of BBI

Next Story

Parliament to audit the ethnic composition of top KRA positions

Latest from Blog