Eight names President Uhuru to select next IEBC Commissioners from

1 min read

Dr. Elizabeth Muli led IEBC Selection Panel tasked with the recruitment of four IEBC commissioners has finalised its assignment, and submitted eight names to President Uhuru Kenyatta for nomination. The selection panel has been looking for qualified Kenyans to fill the four vacant commissioner positions.

Read: Inside Uhuru Kenyatta’s elaborate plan to sell Raila in Mt Kenya

Out of the 36 individuals interviewed, eight names from where President Uhuru will nominate four, have been submitted. The names are Naisiae Tobiko, Juliana Whonge Cherera, Kagwiria Mbogori, Richard Okoth Oduor, Irene Masit, Francis Wanderi, Justus Munyithya, and Justus Nyan’gaya.

After nomination by the president, the four names will be submitted to the National Assembly for vetting by the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee, which will then recommend to the House to approve or reject them. Once approved by the legislators, the Speaker of the National Assembly will forward the list to President Uhuru for his official appointment.

Read: Reggae on as IEBC advertises tender to supply referendum materials

The electoral agency is seeking to fill four vacant positions, following the resignation of former IEBC Vice-Chairperson Connie Nkatha, commissioners Paul Kurgat, Margaret Mwachanya and Roselyn Akombe.

IEBC currently has three commissioners led by Chairperson Wafula Chebukati and Commissioners Abdi Guliye and Boya Mulu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Revealed: Widow to Slain Dutch Tycoon was Married to the Late’s Brother

Next Story

Wanjigi to kick-off massive ODM recruitment drive in Mt Kenya

Latest from Blog