Azimio parties to forward names of members to the Coalition Coordinating Committee (CCC)

3 mins read

Political parties supporting Azimio leader Raila Odinga’s 2022 presidential bid are expected to forward the names of its members to the Coalition Coordinating Committee as the movement’s leader tries to weave a coalition of parties akin to the 2002’s NARC. Once submitted to the CCC, which borrows heavily from the powerful NARC 2002 summit, the names will be made public after their coalition pact with Mr. Odinga is formalised.

According to reports, the former prime minister is borrowing heavily from the 2022 NARC script which propelled Mwai Kibaki to a euphoric victory against late President Moi’s protege and current president, Uhuru Kenyatta. Nominated MP Maina Kamanda agrees to this fact, but proceeds to say their new coalition, unlike NARC, is putting in place a solid foundation for their unity, even after victory in August.

NARC was rocked with an acrimonious fallout after taking over from KANU, over the famous Memorandum of Understanding (MoU).

“Nobody wants to be left out of Azimio. It will form the next government. Unlike Narc that had teething issues on coming to power, we are putting in place a number of safeguards to ensure there are no frictions after victory,” the Jubilee legislator said.

Read: Azimio moves to Bukhungu: The work is just starting

Raila Odinga is one of the key players and strategists behind Mwai Kibaki’s 2002 euphoric victory, even after the former president was involved in a fatal road carnage that confined him to the wheelchair for months.

”We want to utilise our strong presence in the 47 counties. When we begin campaigns proper, you’ll see our various team leaders take charge of voter mobilisation in different parts of the country. There will be numerous rallies happening concurrently in different parts of the country,” Minority Whip in the National Assembly and Mr. Odinga’s top political aide Junet Mohamed confirms them borrowing from NARC’s strategy of using regional kingpins to lock the vote in 2002.

Prominent regional leaders in Mr. Odinga’s camp are; Governors Hassan Joho, Amason Kingi at the Coast, and their Kakamega counterpart Wickliffe Oparanya in Western. 

Governor of Laikipia and Presidential campaigns board Chair Nderitu Murithi, Nakuru county chief Lee Kinyanjui, Agriculture CS Peter Munya, former Gatanga MP Peter Kenneth and vice-chairman of the ruling party, Jubilee, David Murathe from Mt Kenya. Governors Charity Ngilu, Makueni’s Kivutha Kibwana, and Machakos boss Alfred Mutua from the Eastern Region. 

Interestingly, while Narc had ‘Haki yetu sasa inawezekana (Our rights are now guaranteed or are possible), Mr Odinga’s new vehicle Azimio Movement has Inawezekana (It’s possible) as its slogan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Obado snubs DP Ruto amid talks of fall-out with UDA

Next Story

Talking about the mothers and the Freedom Fighters: How about Field Marshal Muthoni wa Kirima?

Latest from Blog