Peter Munya, Ukur Yatani among CSs summoned by DP Ruto to Karen

2 mins read

Deputy President William Ruto has summoned Cabinet Secretaries Peter Munya (Agriculture), Treasury (Ukur Yatani), James Macharia (Transport), and George Magoha (Education) to his Karen residence for the Inter-governmental Budget and Economic Council (IBEC) meeting next week Monday on 22nd. Also summoned is the Council of Governor (CoG) leadership led by Embu Governor Martin Wambora.

This meeting comes at a time when the relationship between President Uhuru Kenyatta and his deputy is at an all-time low and questions are being asked on whether the Cabinet Secretaries will honor the summons by DP Ruto.

Already, the choice of the Deputy President’s Karen residence as the venue of the forum is already causing jitters among the president’s men who feel the building has been turned into a political campaign center, fully kitted with UDA colors.

Read: Mwangi Kiunjuri to run for Laikipia East MP seat in 2022

”The purpose of this letter is to inform you that the next full council meeting shall take place on Monday, 22nd November 2021 at the Office of the Deputy President, Karen Office, at 9am,” the invitation letter by Ken Osinde, the DP’s Chief of Staff reads in part.

Those invited by Ruto to the IBEC meeting are Cabinet Secretaries  Ukur Yatani (National Treasury), Prof George Magoha (Education), Peter Munya (Agriculture), James Macharia (Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development, and Public Works), and Charles Keter (Devolution). CSs Munya and Yatani have thrown their weight behind Raila Odinga’s 2022 presidential bid.

Also expected to attend the meeting is the chairman of the Council of Governors Martin Wambora, the Auditor-General Nancy Gathungu, Controller of Budget Margaret Nyakang’o, Chief Registrar of the Judiciary Anne Amadi, chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation Jane Kiringai, chairperson of the County Assemblies Forum Ndegwa Wahome, Clerk of the National Assembly Michael Sialai, and the acting chairman of the Inter-governmental Relations Technical Committee John Burugu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Mwangi Kiunjuri to run for Laikipia East MP seat in 2022

Next Story

Jubilee, ODM to pick a joint 2022 candidate for Nairobi governor

Latest from Blog