Mohamed Salah and Sam Kerr win FWA Football of the Year awards

3 mins read

The Egypt international received 48 percent of the vote, ahead of Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne and West Ham midfielder Declan Rice.

Liverpool forward Mohamed Salah has been voted the Football Writers’ Association’s Footballer of the Year, with Chelsea striker Sam Kerr receiving the women’s award.

Egypt international Salah took 48 percent of the vote, ahead of Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne and West Ham midfielder Declan Rice.

Salah has scored 30 goals for the Reds this season, 22 in the Premier League, as Jurgen Klopp’s side chases further domestic and European success.

The 29-year-old wins the FWA award, which has been presented since 1948, for the second time having also been named the 2018 Footballer of the Year.

Liverpool and Manchester City players dominated the votes, with nine of Klopp’s squad receiving individual nominations and a total of six City players recognized.

The Women’s Footballer of the Year vote was open to the full FWA membership for the first time, with the award, which was introduced in 2018, having previously been decided by an expert panel.

Australian striker Kerr, who has scored 18 goals in the Women’s Super League to help Chelsea top the table, claimed 40 percent of the vote with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema in second place and Lauren Hemp of Manchester City placing third.

FWA chair Carrie Brown said: “Both Mo and Sam have been outstanding this season, breaking records for both club and country.

“As well as their performances on the pitch, they are leaders and standard-bearers of excellence at their clubs and respective leagues.

“The fact they have won by such convincing margins underlines just how impressive they have been this season which has been recognized by our members.”

Back to Back. That is the African football level in Europe. It is good. And don’t get me started with the ones they have smuggled. Lukaku from DRC plays for Belgium.

France always has all African football players and they are fantastic and win trophies. I will go no further than Ngolo Kante. For now.

We will talk about Zinedine Zidane and the first Africa World Cup Trophy in 1998 later. More than half of the French team that won the world cup in 1998 were Africans.

Mo is on the stage now.

Adongo Ogony is a Human Rights Activist and a Writer who lives in Toronto, Canada

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

10 major political assassinations that shook the world

Next Story

Raila agrees to share government with us, amekubali kupangwa – Nyeri Town MP

Latest from Blog