Uhuru, Raila, Ruto to face off on May 18th

1 min read

President Uhuru Kenyatta’s Jubilee Party, Raila’s ODM and William Ruto’s UDA will face off on May 18th in Bonchari as the constituency will be electing its new MP, after the demise of the late Oroo Oryoka.

According to IEBC, days for the nomination of political party candidates and independent candidates for the by-elections will be on March 29, 2021, and March 30. Apart from Bonchari, Juja, Garissa, and Rurrii ward will also hold their mini-polls.

Nomination papers will be delivered by the candidates to the respective Returning Officer between 8am -1pm and between 2-4pm at the place designated by the Commission.

The campaign period is to commence on March 29 and cease on May 15: campaign time shall run from 7am to 6pm during the campaign period.

Political parties and independent candidates are expected to appoint and submit to the IEBC the names of their Constituency Elections Agents on or before May 4.

“The registration and revision of the register of voters for the said electoral areas is suspended until Monday, 31st May, 2021 (p) If the elections are contested, the poll will take place on Tuesday, 18th May, 2021,” the IEBC said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Tourists have 48 hours to leave Kenya, CS Balala

Next Story

One Kenya Alliance will link up with Jakom as President, David Murathe

Latest from Blog