President Uhuru formally welcomes DR Congo into the EAC

1 min read

The Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC) was on Tuesday officially admitted into the East African Community (EAC) during the 19th Extra-Ordinary Summit of the EAC Heads of State and Government chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta virtually.

Welcoming the newcomer to the EAC, President Kenyatta termed the admission of DRC into the EAC a historic event that demonstrates the agility of the community to expand beyond its socio-cultural boundaries to new people and trade centred partnerships and collaboration that will expand opportunities for citizens of the region.

Read: Kenya deploys KDF to DR Congo days after Uhuru’s visit

“Today as chairman of the EAC, I proudly and warmly welcome our brothers and sisters from the DRC to the EAC and look forward to joining hands in strengthening our community together. Working together, we have more to gain than when we are separate.

“Indeed, the combined population and GDP of our community will grow by 50 percent and 25 percent respectively, implying a corresponding expansion of the market for goods and services. These numbers imply expanded market opportunities for producers located within EAC under the Customs Union,” President Kenyatta said.

DRC now joins Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, South Sudan, Kenya, Tanzania as members of the EAC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Return of BBI? Supreme Court to give a ruling on Thursday

Next Story

DP Ruto, Raila Odinga to share the podium in Eldoret this Friday

Latest from Blog