Inside Azimio team mandated by Uhuru, Raila to pick the running mate

1 min read

A five-member team has been selected by the Azimio Council to operate outside the new coalition’s structures in determining who is the most suitable candidate for the running mate slot among the options available for Azimio flagbearer Raila Odinga.

The five-member team of politicians and technocrats working discretely comprises Head of Civil Service Francis Kinyua, Azimio Executive Director Raphael Tuju, Jubilee Secretary-General Jeremiah Kioni, Professor Makau Mutua, and an official from the Wiper Democratic Movement.

Read:Karua, Sabina Chege,Charity Ngilu, and Shaban to sit in the Azimio Council

Two senior officials from the DCI are also part of the unit, with Professor Mutahi Ngunyi said to be leading its secretariat from his State House office.

The team will then table its findings in ten days to the Azimio Council from where the running mate will be picked.

Members of the Azimio Council are President Uhuru Kenyatta, Hon Raila Odinga (ODM), Mr Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper), Mr Gideon Moi (Kanu), Ms Martha Karua (Narc Kenya), Mombasa Governor Ali Hassan Joho (ODM), Murang’a Woman Representative Sabina Chege (Jubilee), Taveta MP Naomi Shaban (Jubilee), Kitui Governor Charity Ngilu (Narc), Kanduyi MP Wafula Wamunyinyi (DAP-K) and Mr Abdi Noor Omar Farah.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Tabitha Karanja sweeps Nakuru Senate UDA elections

Next Story

Karua: Raila will be pronounced President-Elect!

Latest from Blog